FAQ‘s
We answer your questions.

The FAQ's and explanations of terms are not exhaustive and will be added to on an ongoing basis.

Term Bidirectional charging

In bidirectional charging, the vehicle battery is used as an intermediate storage of electrical energy (e.g. to store surplus solar power). In contrast to monodirectional charging, which is still common today, a bidirectional charging station can be used to feed electrical power and energy back into the building (V2H/V2B) or the electrical supply network (V2G) as required.

Term V2H (vehicle-to-home)

Bidirectionally chargeable e-cars can not only store electrical energy for driving purposes, but also feed it back into the home. Vehicle-to-home thus makes it possible to supply one’s own household with the stored electrical energy from the e-car. The entire charging and feeding back processes take place behind the house meter and is often used to increase the self-sufficiency rate by means of solar power systems.

Term V2B (vehicle-to-building)

As with vehicle-to-home, bidirectionally chargeable e-cars can not only store electrical energy for driving purposes, but also feed it back into the multi-occupant building. Vehicle-to-building thus enables the building to supply its own multi-family dwelling or commercial/industrial facility with the stored electrical energy from the e-car, often as part of an e-car fleet. In addition, peak shaving can be used to cap in-building load peaks. The entire charging and regenerative processes take place behind the electrical building connection.

Term V2G (vehicle-to-grid)

Bidirectionally chargeable e-cars can not only draw electrical energy from the grid, but also feed it back into the grid as part of a smart energy system. This process is controlled by signals from the distribution or transmission system operator and can take place both at public charging stations and inside buildings via the grid connection. The V2G charging and discharging operations of a larger number of e-cars (pooling) serve as services in both the distribution and transmission grids for energy trading and stabilization purposes. Vehicle-to-grid thus enables smart sector coupling.

Term V2X (Vehicle-to-everything)

V2X is considered a collective term for all of the above applications and also expresses the combined use of multiple modes of operation. For example, bidirectionally chargeable e-cars in a parking garage of a larger property can be used both for self-consumption optimization and peak-shaving purposes (V2B) and for providing grid services (V2G).
The autonomous supply of individual consumers and island grids as well as the charging of other e-cars complete the picture.

How far is the bidirectional charging technology?

There are first manufacturers, including the sun2wheel partner EVTEC, which have brought technically mature bidirectional charging stations with CHAdeMO connectors to the market. These have been extensively tested in advance in trials lasting several years.
Bidirectional charging via the CCS plug, which is the standard in Europe, is currently only possible with our two-way digital and -10 charging stations.
In Japan, on the other hand, bidirectional charging technology has been mandatory for every electric vehicle for years!

Is bidirectional charging allowed in Switzerland?

In principle, bidirectional charging is equivalent to the operation of stationary batteries. If the charging infrastructure complies with the VSE Recommendation Grid Connection for Energy Generation Installations (NA-EEA) and the technical standards for electrical safety and electromagnetic compatibility, it is eligible for approval when registering with the distribution grid operator.

As of 1.01.2022, bidirectional charging stations can be registered regularly by means of an updated technical connection application.

Can all electric vehicles be charged bidirectionally?

No, unfortunately not yet!
Basically, all Japanese electric vehicles can be charged bidirectionally, because this is required by the Japanese government. Bidirectional charging is possible mainly for vehicle types with CHAdeMO, but in one case also with CCS fast charging cable. In general, bidirectional charging requires the approval of the vehicle manufacturer and the certification of the charging station for the respective vehicle type.

The currently available vehicle types that allow bidirectional charging are as follows:
– Nissan Leaf and e-NV-200 (vans) –> CHAdeMO.
– Mitsubishi i-MiEV, Outlander and Eclipse Cross –> CHAdeMO
– Peugeot iOn and Citroën C-Zero –> CHAdeMO
– Honda e –> CCS

Several vehicle manufacturers have announced plans to supply the market with bidirectionally chargeable electric models in the near future. In general, the introduction of an international standard is expected by 2025, which will also regulate bidirectional charging with CCS charging plugs in a binding manner.
The Hyundai Ioniq 5 is not bidirectional in the sense of vehicle-to-home. You can only draw a limited amount of power via an onboard plug, single-phase. This cannot be used to operate a house.

Will bidirectional charging harm my vehicle battery?

Years of practice and scientific research have shown that lithium batteries are very robust. In addition, the latest technical developments have resulted in an even longer battery life. Since the discharge power during bidirectional charging is much lower compared to driving (factor 10 and more), the additional aging of the battery is extremely low. The approval of vehicle models for bidirectional charging operation by their manufacturers also includes the retention of full warranty services.

What do bidirectional charging stations mean for the existing power grid infrastructure of the building in question?

The intermediate storage and targeted feeding back of self-produced solar power increases the self-consumption rate of a property or an area with a photovoltaic system and thus reduces the purchase costs of electrical energy.
The bidirectional connection of vehicles also makes it possible to reduce power peaks by discharging the batteries in a load-controlled manner. This regenerative power supply results in a reduction of grid costs for the user through savings in the power tariff.
With a larger number of vehicles feeding back, the charging capacity of the charging infrastructure can even be raised above the capacity of the installed connected load.

What can V2X contribute to the stability of the power supply?

By bundled charging and discharging of vehicles, overloads of the grid can be reduced, e.g. by irregularly feeding solar power or wind power plants. For example, 100,000 electric vehicles connected to the grid with ±10 kW each represent a decentralized control power of ±1 GW. This corresponds to the output of the largest Swiss pumped storage plant, Limmern. Half of the energy that can be stored in the 100,000 batteries is sufficient to supply 200,000 average single-family homes with electricity for one day.
Note: there are about 4.6 million cars in Switzerland; the highest total power occurring in the Swiss electricity grid occurs in winter and is about 9.5 GW.

Term ZEV (association for self-consumption)

Owners of apartment buildings, office buildings and commercial buildings can make the self-produced solar power available to tenants for self-consumption. The solution of sun2wheel enables the correct billing in case of aggregation for self-consumption.

Does a bidirectional charging station have to be registered?

Yes, a bidirectional charging station must be registered with the local network operator just like a simple charging station. The technical connection application, which may be completed and submitted by an electrician, for example, is used for this purpose.
How do I notify the grid operator of a bidirectional charging station?

The “technical connection request” form is used for this purpose. This may only be filled out by a certified person such as an electrician. Only the section “Charging facilities for electric vehicles” is filled in. The following data must be entered:
Type of device: “bidirectional charging station”.
Manufacturer of the device: “sun2wheel AG”.
Device type: “two-way-digital” or “two-way-10
Connection: 3x400V
Rated current device: 16 A
Rated power device: 10 kVA
Cos Phi: 1
DC charging of the vehicle
Max. Mains draw power: 10 kVA
Max. Mains withdrawal power: 0
Adjustable power by TSO: 0 kVA to 0 kVA
Controllable power by operator: 0 kVA to 10 kVA
Active power controllable: No
Interface between charging pole and distribution grid operator available: No
Comment of the submitting company: “For the regulation of charging as well as discharging, the balance energy is measured. This guarantees that no energy is fed back into the grid.”

Does the bidirectional charging station also run if the power grid fails?

No, the bidirectional charging station is not yet island-capable and cannot operate in the event of a power failure. Likewise, our charging station is not yet compatible with a self-sufficient building. We are working to ensure that our systems can be used in an island system in the near future.

FAQ‘s
Wir beantworten Ihre Fragen.

Die FAQ's und Begriffserklärungen sind nicht abschliessend und werden fortlaufend ergänzt.

Begriff Bidirektionales Laden

Beim bidirektionalen Laden wird die Fahrzeugbatterie als Zwischenspeicher elektrischer Energie genutzt (z.B. um überschüssigen Solarstrom zu speichern). Im Gegensatz zum monodirektionalen Laden, welches heute noch üblich ist, kann bei Bedarf demnach mit einer bidirektionalen Ladestation elektrische Leistung und Energie gezielt ins Gebäude (V2H/V2B) resp. ins elektrische Versorgungsnetz (V2G) zurückgespeist werden.

V2H (Vehicle-to-home)

Bidirektional ladefähige E-Autos können nicht nur elektrische Energie zu Fahrzwecken speichern, sondern auch wieder in das Haus zurückspeisen. Vehicle-to-home ermöglicht somit die Versorgung des eigenen Haushalts mit der gespeicherten elektrischen Energie aus dem E-Auto. Die gesamten Lade- und Rückspeisevorgänge finden hinter dem Hauszähler statt und wird häufig eingesetzt um die Eigenversorgungsquote mittels Solarstromanlagen zu steigern.

Begriff V2B (Vehicle-to-building)

Wie bei Vehicle-to-home können bidirektional ladefähige E-Autos nicht nur elektrische Energie zu Fahrzwecken speichern, sondern auch wieder in das Gebäude mit mehreren Bezügern zurück speisen. Vehicle-to-building ermöglicht somit die Versorgung des eigenen Mehrfamilienhauses oder Gewerbe-/Industriebetriebes mit der gespeicherten elektrischen Energie aus dem E-Auto, oft auch als Teil einer E-Auto Flotte. Zusätzlich können durch Peak-Shaving gebäudeinterne Lastspitzen gekappt werden. Die gesamten Lade- und Rückspeisevorgänge finden hinter dem elektrischen Gebäudeanschluss statt.

Begriff V2G (Vehicle-to-grid)

Bidirektional ladefähige E-Autos können nicht nur elektrische Energie aus dem Netz entnehmen, sondern als Teil eines intelligenten Energiesystems auch wieder in das Netz einspeisen. Dieser Vorgang wird durch Signale des Verteil- oder Übertragungsnetzbetreibers gesteuert und kann sowohl auf öffentlichen Ladeplätzen als auch innerhalb von Gebäuden über den Netzanschluss erfolgen. Die V2G Lade- und Entladevorgänge einer grösseren Anzahl von E-Autos (Pooling) dienen im Energiehandel und zu Stabilisierungszwecken als Dienstleistungen sowohl im Verteil- als auch im Übertragungsnetz. Vehicle-to-grid ermöglicht somit die intelligente Sektorenkopplung.

Begriff V2X (Vehicle-to-everything)

V2X gilt als Sammelbegriff für alle obigen Anwendungen und drückt auch die kombinierte Anwendung mehrerer Betriebsarten aus. So können z.B. bidirektional ladefähige E-Autos in einer Einstellhalle einer grösseren Liegenschaft sowohl zur Eigenverbrauchoptimierung und für Peak-Shaving Zwecke (V2B) als auch zum Erbringen von Netzdienstleistungen (V2G) verwendet werden.
Die autonome Versorgung von Einzelverbrauchern und Inselnetzen wie auch das Laden anderer E-Autos vervollständigen das Bild.

 

Wie weit ist die bidirektionale Ladetechnologie?

Es gibt erste Hersteller, darunter auch der sun2wheel Partner EVTEC, welche technisch ausgereifte bidirektionale Ladestationen mit CHAdeMO Steckern auf den Markt gebracht haben. Diese sind im Vorfeld in mehrjährigen Versuchen ausführlich getestet worden.
Das bidirektionale Laden über die in Europa als Standard gesetzten CCS Stecker ist momentan ausschliesslich mit unseren two-way-digital und -10 Ladestationen möglich.
In Japan wiederum ist die bidirektionale Ladetechnologie seit Jahren bei jedem Elektromobil Pflicht!

Ist bidirektionales Laden in der Schweiz erlaubt?

Grundsätzlich ist bidirektionales Laden mit dem Betrieb stationärer Batterien gleichzusetzen. Falls die Ladeinfrastruktur die VSE Empfehlung Netzanschluss für Energieerzeugungsanlagen (NA-EEA) und der technischen Normen für elektrische Sicherheit und elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit, ist sie bei der Anmeldung beim Verteilnetzbetreiber bewilligungsfähig.
Ab 1.01.2022 können bidirektionale Ladestationen regulär mittels aktualisiertem technischem Anschlussgesuch (TAG) angemeldet werden.

Können alle Elektromobile bidirektional geladen werden?

Nein, leider noch nicht!
Grundsätzlich können alle japanischen Elektrofahrzeuge bidirektional laden, weil dies vom japanischen Staat vorgeschrieben ist. Möglich ist bidirektionales Laden vor allem bei Fahrzeugtypen mit CHAdeMO, in einem Fall jedoch auch mit CCS Schnelladekabel. Generell benötigt bidirektionales Laden die Genehmigung des Fahrzeugherstellers und die Zertifizierung der Ladestation für den jeweiligen Fahrzeugtyp.

Die momentan verfügbaren Fahrzeugtypen, welche ein bidirektionales Laden zulassen, sind folgende:
– Nissan Leaf und e-NV-200 (Lieferwagen) –> CHAdeMO
– Mitsubishi i-MiEV, Outlander und Eclipse Cross –> CHAdeMO
– Peugeot iOn und Citroën C-Zero –> CHAdeMO
– Honda e –> CCS

Mehrere Fahrzeughersteller haben für die nahe Zukunft die Belieferung des Marktes mit bidirektional ladbaren Elektromodellen angekündigt. Generell ist mit der Einführung einer internationalen Norm bis 2025 zu rechnen, welche auch das bidirektionale Laden mit CCS Ladesteckern verbindlich regeln wird.

Der Hyundai Ioniq 5 ist nicht bidirektional im Sinne von Vehicle-to-home. Man kann lediglich über einen Onboard Stecker eine beschränkte Leistung entnehmen, einphasig. Damit kann kein Haus betrieben werden. Weiterlesen

Schadet bidirektionales Laden meiner Fahrzeugbatterie?

Jahrelange Praxis und wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass Lithiumbatterien sehr robust sind. Ausserdem haben die neuesten technischen Entwicklungen eine nochmals erhöhte Lebensdauer der Batterien zur Folge. Da die Entladeleistung beim bidirektionalen Laden im Vergleich zum Fahrbetrieb viel geringer ist (Faktor 10 und mehr), ist die zusätzliche Alterung der Batterie äusserst gering. Die Zulassung von Fahrzeugmodellen für den bidirektionalen Ladebetrieb durch deren Hersteller beinhaltet auch die Beibehaltung der vollständigen Garantieleistungen.

Was bedeuten bidirektionaler Ladestationen für die bestehende Stromnetz-Infrastruktur des betreffenden Gebäudes?

Durch die Zwischenspeicherung und gezielte Rückspeisung von selbst produzierten Solarstrom wird die Eigenverbrauchsquote einer Liegenschaft oder eines Areals mit Photovoltaikanlage erhöht und somit die Bezugskosten elektrischer Energie vermindert.
Der bidirektionale Anschluss von Fahrzeugen ermöglicht ausserdem den Abbau von Leistungsspitzen, indem die Batterien lastgesteuert entladen werden. Durch diese Rückspeisung werden für den Anwender eine Reduktion der Netzkosten durch Einsparungen beim Leistungstarif erzielt.
Bei einer grösseren Anzahl zurückspeisender Fahrzeuge kann die Ladeleistung der Ladeinfrastruktur sogar über die Kapazität der installierten Anschlussleistung gehoben werden.

Was kann V2X zur Stabilität der Stromversorgung beitragen?

Durch gebündeltes Laden und Entladen von Fahrzeugen können Überlastungen des Netzes z.B. durch unregelmässig einspeisende Solarstrom- oder Windkraftanlagen abgebaut werden. 100’000 mit je ±10 kW ans Netz angeschlossen Elektrofahrzeuge stellen z.B. eine dezentrale Regelleistung von ±1 GW dar. Dies entspricht der Leistung des grössten Schweizer Pumpspeicherwerks Limmern. Die Hälfte der in den 100’000 Batterien speicherbaren Energie reicht aus, um 200’000 durchschnittliche Einfamilienhäuser einen Tag lang mit Strom zu versorgen.
Bemerkung: in der Schweiz sind ca. 4,6 Millionen PKWs eingelöst; die höchste auftretende Gesamtleistung im schweizerischen Elektrizitätsnetz tritt im Winter auf und beträgt ca. 9,5 GW.

Begriff ZEV (Zusammenschluss zum Eigenverbrauch)

Eigentümer von Mehrfamilienhäusern, Büroimmobilien und Gewerbegebäuden können den selbst produzierten Sonnenstrom zum Eigenverbrauch den Mietern zur Verfügung stellen. Die Lösung von sun2wheel ermöglicht die korrekte Abrechnung bei Zusammenschluss zum Eigenverbrauch.

Muss eine bidirektionale Ladestation angemeldet werden?

Ja, eine bidirektionale Ladestation muss wie eine einfache Ladestation dem lokalen Netzbetreiber (VNB) gemeldet werden. Dazu dient das technische Anschlussgesuch (TAG), welches beispielsweise durch einen Elektriker ausgefüllt und eingereicht werden darf.

Wie meldet man eine bidirektionale Ladestation dem Netzbetreiber?

Dazu benutzt man das Formular «technisches Anschlussgesuch», kurz TAG. Dieses darf nur von einer zertifizierten Person wie zum Beispiel einem Elektriker ausgefüllt werden. Es wird nur der Abschnitt «Ladeeinrichtungen für Elektrofahrzeuge» ausgefüllt. Folgende Daten müssen eingetragen werden:

Art des Gerätes: «bidirektionale Ladestation»
Geräteherstelle: «sun2wheel AG»
Gerätetyp: «two-way-digital» oder «two-way-10»
Anschluss: 3x400V
Nennstrom Gerät: 16 A
Nennleistung Gerät: 10 kVA
Cos Phi: 1
DC Ladung des Fahrzeuges
Max. Netzentnahmeleistung: 10 kVA
Max. Netzentnahmeleistung: 0
Regelbare Leistung durch VNB: 0 kVA bis 0 kVA
Regelbare Leistung durch Betreiber: 0 kVA bis 10 kVA
Wirkleistung steuerbar: Nein
Schnittstelle Ladesäule zu VNB vorhanden: Nein
Bemerkung des einreichenden Unternehmens: «Für die Regelung der Ladung- sowie Entladung wird die Bilanzenergie gemessen. So wird garantiert, dass keine Energie ins Netz zurückgespiesen wird.»